back

Strategic Development

In 2014, the Bertelsmann Group Management Committee dealt with the issue of corporate responsibility on two occasions. An internal stakeholder dialogue with the divisions provided important input for this. Education, freedom of the press, protection of media users and customers and ecological resource efficiency shaped the debate, alongside other key issues. The expansion of CR governance at Bertelsmann was also promoted, with the designation of senior CR contacts in the Bertelsmann divisions.

Transparency Online

The Bertelsmann corporate website creates transparency about responsible corporate practice at Bertelsmann and its companies. Since 2014, an interactive index in accordance with the guidelines of the Global Reporting Initiative (GRI) has supported targeted navigation through the corporate profile and the company’s social and environmental performance indicators. Apart from this, in the past year alone, more than 200 corporate responsibility projects, initiatives and awards were communicated online. The digital information offered is supplemented by publications such as the annual Communication on Progress for the UN Global Compact and the divisions’ various CR communication channels.

The Challenge of Demographic Change

Demographic change also presents great challenges for Bertelsmann, especially in Germany. Against this background, the focus of diversity management in 2014 was on developing strategic measures such as age-structure analyses. Pilot projects were initially run at the Bertelsmann Corporate Center in Gütersloh. Based on the results, the implications of demographic trends for HR policy, training, leadership, job design and health promotion will be investigated.

 

Our Commitment: Ethics & Compliance

Bertelsmann’s “Ethics & Compliance” program represents the continuation of a form of corporate governance that has evolved and proven itself over decades, one that attaches great importance to abiding by the law and taking social responsibility. This program is primarily based on a compliance organization, monitoring of compliance risks, a Code of Conduct as a set of binding guidelines for law-abiding behavior, training and communication activities based on this and mechanisms for monitoring compliance with these standards.

zurück

Strategische Weiterentwicklung

2014 befasste sich das Bertelsmann Group Management Committee zweimal mit dem Thema Corporate Responsibility. Ein gemeinsam mit den Unternehmensbereichen durchgeführter interner Stakeholderdialog lieferte hierfür einen wichtigen Beitrag. Bildung, Pressefreiheit, der Schutz von Mediennutzern und Kunden sowie ökologische Ressourceneffizienz prägten neben weiteren Themenfeldern die Debatte. Darüber hinaus wurde mit der Benennung von hochrangigen CR-Ansprechpartnern in den Bertelsmann-Divisionen der Ausbau einer CR-Governance bei Bertelsmann vorangetrieben.

Transparenz online

Transparenz über das verantwortungsvolle Handeln von Bertelsmann und seiner Firmen schafft die Bertelsmann-Unternehmenswebsite. Ein interaktiver Index nach den Leitlinien der Global Reporting Initiative (GRI) unterstützt dabei seit 2014 die zielgerichtete Navigation durch das Konzernprofil und die sozialen und ökologischen Leistungsindikatoren des Unternehmens. Allein im vergangenen Geschäftsjahr wurden daneben über 200 Corporate-Responsibility-Projekte, Initiativen und Auszeichnungen online kommuniziert. Ergänzt wird das digitale Informationsangebot durch Publikationen wie den jährlichen Fortschrittsbericht für den UN Global Compact und die vielfältigen CR-Kommunikationskanäle der Unternehmensbereiche.

Herausforderung demografischer Wandel

Der demografische Wandel stellt auch Bertelsmann vor große Herausforderungen, insbesondere in Deutschland. Vor diesem Hintergrund wurde der Fokus des Diversity Managements 2014 auf die Entwicklung strategischer Maßnahmen wie z. B. Altersstrukturanalysen gelegt. Pilotprojekte dazu fanden zunächst im Bertelsmann Corporate Center in Gütersloh statt. Auf der Grundlage der Ergebnisse werden die Implikationen der demografischen Entwicklung für die Personalpolitik, für Weiterbildung, Führung, Arbeitsgestaltung und Gesundheitsförderung untersucht.

Unsere Verpflichtung: Ethics & Compliance

Das „Ethics & Compliance“-Programm von Bertelsmann stellt die logische Fortsetzung einer über Jahrzehnte hinweg gewachsenen und bewährten Form der Unternehmensführung dar, die Fragen der Gesetzestreue und der gesellschaftlichen Verantwortung große Bedeutung beimisst. Dieses Programm beruht insbesondere auf einer Compliance-Organisation, dem Monitoring von Compliance-Risiken, einem Verhaltenskodex als verbindlicher Leitlinie für gesetzeskonformes Handeln, darauf aufbauenden Schulungs- und Kommunikationsmaßnahmen sowie Mechanismen zur Überwachung der Einhaltung dieser Standards.